Thanks Mom (mine and others, for saving our lives)

Posted: May 11, 2013 by pastorericrhann in Church, Family
Tags: ,

Mom picture

This Sunday at VBC in Bakersfield I look forward to Pastor Phil Neighbors bringing an excellent, testimonial Mother’s Day message (8, 9:30, 11:11am). My understanding is, there will even be a meaningful film clip as part of morning worship – and in the 11:11am service a pack of youth/kids will be baptized.

Approaching this day, I’m reminded of how thankful I am for my own mom.

For instance, I’m glad my mom didn’t want me to play with matches. On one occasion (Bakersfield, Ca. 1974), when I assumed my mom was sleeping, I tried to sneak a large handful of matches out of the house. All I wanted to do was light up a large area of tall, dry grass in the land-space alley between homes. That’ll show those ants! (thought my 7 year old mind). Fortunately, my mom never actually slept. She sort of cat-napped with her radar still on.

“YOUNG MAN, WHAT’S THAT IN YOUR HAND!!”

Know that I, along with much of Northeast Bakersfield, owe our existence to my mom.

So… thanks mom.

-Eric

Comments are closed.